Home › Compare › Fox ESS EVO 10 vs Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter

Fox ESS EVO 10 vs Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter

Fox ESS EVO 10 stores 9.73 kWh per unit, expanding to 29.18 kWh. Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter stores 4.61 kWh per unit. Across the setups we list, continuous power is 5–10 kW for the EVO 10 and 3.6–5 kW for the L5.1 with ECCO inverter. Warranty: 12 years vs 10 years. Intelligent Octopus Flux: EVO 10 is “Sold by Octopus for this tariff; not on its FAQ list”; L5.1 with ECCO inverter is “Not on Octopus's list”.

Figures from manufacturer documents, last checked 26 Sept 2026. We don't rank products or take payment for results.

How they're built

Fox ESS EVO 10

All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid inverter (solar connects on the DC side).

Backup: Built-in EPS (backup) output.

Full EVO 10 specs

Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter

48 V low-voltage battery modules with a Sunsynk ECCO hybrid inverter; the inverter supports DC or AC coupling to existing solar.

Full L5.1 with ECCO inverter specs

Side by side

SpecificationFox ESS EVO 10Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter
Usable capacity (per unit)9.73 kWhcalculatedCalculated; the datasheet gives total energy and depth of discharge, not usable energyFox ESS datasheet, p.2, Battery Connection4.61 kWhPer module, 90% depth of dischargeSunsynk datasheet, p.2
Battery chemistryLFP (LiFePO₄)Fox ESS datasheet, p.2LFP (LiFePO₄)Sunsynk datasheet, p.2
Maximum usable storage (expanded)29.18 kWhcalculatedCalculated from parallel limit and usable capacityFox ESS datasheetNot documented
How it expandsUp to 3 EVO units in parallelFox ESS datasheet, p.2, EPS output: Parallel operationUp to 32 modules in parallel (163.8 kWh total energy)Sunsynk datasheet, p.2, Scalability
Continuous power (per unit)5–10 kWEVO 10-5-H: 5 kW · EVO 10-8-H: 8 kW · EVO 10-10-H: 10 kWFox ESS datasheet, p.2, AC output rated power3.6–5 kWECCO 3.6K: 3.6 kW · ECCO 5K: 5 kW (larger ECCO models also available)Sunsynk datasheet, p.2, Rated AC Output and UPS Power
Peak power10–20 kWBackup (EPS) peak for 10 seconds: 10 / 16 / 20 kVA by modelFox ESS datasheet, p.2, EPS output7.2–10 kWcalculatedInverter: 2 × rated power for 10 s, off-grid. The batteries' current limits may allow less.Sunsynk datasheet, p.2, Peak Power (off-grid)
ArchitectureAll-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid inverter (solar connects on the DC side)Fox ESS datasheet, p.148 V low-voltage battery modules with a Sunsynk ECCO hybrid inverter; the inverter supports DC or AC coupling to existing solarSunsynk datasheet, p.1
Max solar input16–20 kWMax PV array: 16 kWp (5 kW model), 20 kWp (8 and 10 kW models)Fox ESS datasheet, p.2, PV input6.5–7 kWECCO 5K: 6.5 kW · ECCO 3.6K: 7 kWSunsynk datasheet, p.2, Max. DC Input Power
Backup switchover time4 msLess than 4 msFox ESS datasheet, p.2, EPS switch timeNot documented
Backup needsBuilt-in EPS (backup) outputFox ESS datasheet, p.1–2Not documented
Indoor / outdoorIndoor and outdoor (IP66)calculatedFox ESS datasheet, p.2Not documented
Dimensions584 × 1009 × 197W × H × DFox ESS datasheet, p.2440 × 620 × 135 per moduleW × H × D, excluding breaker and terminalsSunsynk datasheet, p.2
Weight113 kgFox ESS datasheet, p.250 kgPer module, approximate; ECCO inverter 20.5 kgSunsynk datasheet, p.2
Warranty (UK)12 yearsFox ESS warranty, p.2, performance warranty table10 yearsBattery cells: 10 years or 6,000 cycles. Battery BMS: 5 yearsSunsynk warranty, p.1, §2 Battery warranty
Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty70%70% of nominal energyFox ESS warranty, p.2Not documented
Warranty conditionsNot documentedAfter year 5, faulty cells are replaced free but labour isn't covered. Must be bought from Sunsynk or an authorised reseller, installed in a covered country (the UK is included) and cycled no more than 700 times a year. No capacity-retention figure is given.Sunsynk warranty, p.1, §2, §4 and §5

How long each runs your home in a power cut

Every setup we list for both, from a full battery with no solar. Appliance figures are typical estimates; use the calculator below with your own.

SetupUsableContinuousEssentials (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV, charging)Essentials + air-source heat pump (winter)
Fox ESS EVO 10-5-H (5 kW)9.73 kWh5 kW2 days 11 hours5.6 hours
Fox ESS EVO 10-8-H (8 kW)9.73 kWh8 kW2 days 11 hours5.6 hours
Fox ESS EVO 10-10-H (10 kW)9.73 kWh10 kW2 days 11 hours5.6 hours
Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter · ECCO 3.6 kW + 2 × L5.1 (9.2 kWh)9.22 kWh3.6 kW2 days 8 hours5.3 hours
Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter · ECCO 5 kW + 2 × L5.1 (9.2 kWh)9.22 kWh5 kW2 days 8 hours5.3 hours
Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter · ECCO 5 kW + 3 × L5.1 (13.8 kWh)13.83 kWh5 kW3 days 12 hours7.9 hours

Try your own appliances

Tick what you want to run. Watts are typical estimates; change them to match your appliances.
Essentials
Comfort
Kitchen
Big loads
Estimated runtime from full
2 days 11 hours

Average draw 156 W from 9.24 kWh available.

Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 5 kW limit

  • Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
  • 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
  • Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
  • Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
Worth knowing
  • EVO 10: Usable capacity is calculated (10.24 kWh × 95% depth of discharge); Fox ESS does not state a usable figure in this datasheet.
  • EVO 10: Round-trip efficiency is not stated; the datasheet gives a 96.4% battery-to-AC figure at full load, which is one direction only.
  • L5.1 with ECCO inverter: Sunsynk recommends 50 A per module (about 2.5 kW) and allows up to 100 A. With only one or two modules, the full inverter output may not be sustained for long.
  • L5.1 with ECCO inverter: The warranty doesn't guarantee a minimum capacity after a set number of years.
  • L5.1 with ECCO inverter: Round-trip efficiency isn't stated on the battery datasheet.
  • L5.1 with ECCO inverter: Our ECCO inverter datasheet is version 4 (March 2023), the newest we found for the 3.6 kW and 5 kW models.

Questions people ask

Which can run more appliances at once?

Across the setups we list, Fox ESS EVO 10 delivers 5–10 kW continuously and Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter delivers 3.6–5 kW. These are the maximums for each setup; installers can set some systems lower. Continuous power limits how many appliances can run at the same time; capacity decides how long they run.

Which has the better warranty?

Fox ESS EVO 10: 12 years, 70% capacity guaranteed at the end. Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter: 10 years, no capacity figure stated. Conditions differ, so check the warranty rows in the table above.

Do Fox ESS EVO 10 and Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter work with Intelligent Octopus Flux?

Fox ESS EVO 10: Sold by Octopus for this tariff; not on its FAQ list. Sunsynk L5.1 with ECCO inverter: Not on Octopus's list. Octopus lists the battery brands it can control in its Intelligent Flux FAQ; see our Intelligent Octopus Flux page for details.

Other comparisons

Sources

  1. EVO 10 Datasheet (UK) V1.0 — Fox ESS, V1.0. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  2. Fox ESS Battery Warranty Policy (UK) Version 4.5 — Fox ESS, 4.5. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  3. SUNSYNK-L5.1 datasheet — Sunsynk, v.6 (28/06/24). Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  4. ECCO Hybrid Inverter SUN-3.6/5/6/7.6/8K-SG05LP1-EU datasheet — Sunsynk, v.4 (29/03/23). Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  5. Manufacturer's Warranty — Warranty Agreement Terms and Conditions — Sunsynk. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  6. Solar & Battery Options (Octopus install packages) — Octopus Energy, Prices based on April 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.

Spotted an error? See how we check data. Always confirm your final design with an MCS-certified installer.