Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 5P
Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh per unit, expanding to 94.5 kWh. Enphase IQ Battery 5P stores 5 kWh per unit, expanding to 35 kWh. Across the setups we list, continuous power is 11.04 kW for the Powerwall 3 and 3.2–9.6 kW for the IQ Battery 5P. Warranty: 10 years vs 15 years.
Figures from manufacturer documents, last checked 26 Sept 2026. We don't rank products or take payment for results.
How they're built
Tesla Powerwall 3
All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side).
Backup: Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs).
Enphase IQ Battery 5P
AC-coupled battery with six built-in IQ8D-BAT microinverters.
Backup: IQ System Controller 3 INT (plus IQ Gateway Metered and Communications Kit).
Side by side
| Specification | Tesla Powerwall 3 | Enphase IQ Battery 5P |
|---|---|---|
| Usable capacity (per unit) | 13.5 kWhAC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°CTesla datasheet, p.2 & p.4 | 5 kWhIncludes a 2% safety limit and 3% overnight electronics reserve (footnote 3)Enphase datasheet, p.2, Battery: Usable capacity |
| Battery chemistry | Not documented | LFP (lithium iron phosphate)Enphase datasheet, p.2 |
| Maximum usable storage (expanded) | 94.5 kWhMultiple Powerwall 3 units and/or ExpansionsTesla datasheet, p.1 | 35 kWhcalculatedSingle-phase UK backup systemEnphase manual |
| How it expands | Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units)Tesla datasheet, p.2 | Up to 7 IQ Battery 5P units with IQ System Controller 3 INT (UK, single phase)Enphase manual, System sizing guidelines |
| Continuous power (per unit) | 11.04 kWInstaller-configurable: 3.68, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 or 11.04 kWTesla datasheet, p.2, Nominal AC Output Power at 230 V | 3.2 kW3.2 kVA per battery (13.91 A)Enphase datasheet, p.2 |
| Peak power | Not documented | 6.4 kWcalculatedEnphase datasheet, p.2, Peak output current (3 s) 27.82 A at 230 V, backup operation |
| Round-trip efficiency | 89%Solar → battery → home/grid, typical use caseTesla datasheet, p.2, footnotes 1 & 3 | 90%AC → battery → AC at 50% power, 25°C, beginning of lifeEnphase datasheet, p.2, footnote 2 |
| Architecture | All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side)Tesla datasheet, p.1 & p.3 solar specifications | AC-coupled battery with six built-in IQ8D-BAT microinvertersEnphase datasheet, p.1 |
| Max solar input | 20 kWMaximum solar STC inputTesla datasheet, p.3 | Not documented |
| Backup needs | Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs)Tesla datasheet, p.2 & p.5 | IQ System Controller 3 INT (plus IQ Gateway Metered and Communications Kit)Enphase datasheet, p.4, Compatibility |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor and outdoor ratedTesla datasheet, p.3 | Outdoor rated (IP55)Enphase datasheet, p.2 |
| Dimensions | 1105 × 609 × 193H × W × D as listedTesla datasheet, p.3 | 980 × 550 × 188H × W × DEnphase datasheet, p.2 |
| Weight | 130 kgTesla datasheet, p.3 | 82 kgTotal installed weight (68.5 kg lifting weight)Enphase datasheet, p.2 |
| Warranty (UK) | 10 yearsMust be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 yearsTesla datasheet, p.2, footnote 6 | 15 yearsOr 6,000 cycles, whichever first; restrictions applyEnphase datasheet, p.3, Limited warranty |
| Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty | 80%80% of 13.5 kWh at 10 yearsTesla warranty, p.1, retention table for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK | 60%More than 60% capacityEnphase datasheet, p.3 |
| Warranty conditions | Unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh throughput limit for other uses. Minimum 4-year cover if not kept online.Tesla warranty, p.1 & p.3 | Not documented |
How long each runs your home in a power cut
Every setup we list for both, from a full battery with no solar. Appliance figures are typical estimates; use the calculator below with your own.
| Setup | Usable | Continuous | Essentials (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV, charging) | Essentials + air-source heat pump (winter) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 13.5 kWh | 11.04 kW | 3 days 10 hours | 7.7 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 1 Expansion | 27 kWh | 11.04 kW | 6 days 20 hours | 15.5 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 2 Expansions | 40.5 kWh | 11.04 kW | 10 days 7 hours | 23.2 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 3 Expansions | 54 kWh | 11.04 kW | 13 days 17 hours | 31 hours |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P · 1 × IQ Battery 5P | 5 kWh | 3.2 kW | 30.4 hours | 2.9 hours |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P · 2 × IQ Battery 5P | 10 kWh | 6.4 kW | 2 days 13 hours | 5.7 hours |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P · 3 × IQ Battery 5P | 15 kWh | 9.6 kW | 3 days 19 hours | 8.6 hours |
Try your own appliances
Average draw 156 W from 12.83 kWh available.
Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 11.04 kW limit
- Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
- 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
- Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
- Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
- Powerwall 3: Battery chemistry is not stated in the UK datasheet.
- Powerwall 3: A peak power figure in kW is not stated in the UK datasheet; it lists motor-start capability of 185 A (locked rotor amps).
- Powerwall 3: Continuous output is set by the installer (3.68–11.04 kW). Ask what yours will be set to.
- IQ Battery 5P: Works with Enphase IQ7/IQ8 microinverters and, with an extra contactor, third-party string inverters. It does not work alongside the older Enphase AC Battery.
- IQ Battery 5P: Peak power is calculated from the peak current in the datasheet.
- IQ Battery 5P: Continuous and peak power per battery add up when several are installed, because each battery has its own microinverters.
Questions people ask
Which stores more, Tesla Powerwall 3 or Enphase IQ Battery 5P?
Tesla Powerwall 3 has the higher stated maximum. Tesla Powerwall 3: up to 94.5 kWh (multiple Powerwall 3 units and/or Expansions). Enphase IQ Battery 5P: up to 35 kWh (single-phase UK backup system). Per unit, Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh and Enphase IQ Battery 5P stores 5 kWh.
Which can run more appliances at once?
Across the setups we list, Tesla Powerwall 3 delivers 11.04 kW continuously and Enphase IQ Battery 5P delivers 3.2–9.6 kW. These are the maximums for each setup; installers can set some systems lower. Continuous power limits how many appliances can run at the same time; capacity decides how long they run.
Which has the better warranty?
Tesla Powerwall 3: 10 years, 80% capacity guaranteed at the end. Enphase IQ Battery 5P: 15 years, 60% capacity guaranteed at the end. Conditions differ, so check the warranty rows in the table above.
Do Tesla Powerwall 3 and Enphase IQ Battery 5P work with Intelligent Octopus Flux?
Tesla Powerwall 3: On Octopus's integration list. Enphase IQ Battery 5P: On Octopus's integration list. Octopus lists the battery brands it can control in its Intelligent Flux FAQ; see our Intelligent Octopus Flux page for details.
Other comparisons
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Sigenergy SigenStor
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Fox ESS EVO 10
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs SolarEdge Home Battery 400V
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Huawei LUNA2000-S1
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs myenergi libbi
Enphase IQ Battery 5P vs SolarEdge Home Battery 400V
Sources
- Powerwall 3 Datasheet (UK) — Tesla, 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Powerwall Limited Warranty (Europe incl. UK) — Tesla, Rev. 1.16, effective 3 Dec 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- IQ Battery 5P data sheet (United Kingdom) — Enphase, DSH-00857-1.0. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Enphase Energy System planning guide — single-phase backup systems (UK) — Enphase, TEB-00305-1.0, July 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Intelligent Octopus Flux: Frequently Asked Questions — Octopus Energy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
Spotted an error? See how we check data. Always confirm your final design with an MCS-certified installer.