Tesla Powerwall 3
The Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh usable. All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side). Running essentials only, a full Powerwall 3 lasts about 3 days 10 hours in a power cut.
An all-in-one home battery with a built-in solar inverter. One unit stores 13.5 kWh and can be expanded with up to three Expansion units.
Last checked 26 Sept 2026 · Sources listed at the bottom of the page
- Battery chemistry is not stated in the UK datasheet.
- A peak power figure in kW is not stated in the UK datasheet; it lists motor-start capability of 185 A (locked rotor amps).
- Continuous output is set by the installer (3.68–11.04 kW). Ask what yours will be set to.
How long will it run your home?
Pick a setup and tick what you want to keep running. The maths is shown below the result.
Average draw 156 W from 12.83 kWh available.
Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 11.04 kW limit
- Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
- 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
- Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
- Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
Setups you can buy
| Setup | Usable energy | Continuous power |
|---|---|---|
| Powerwall 3 | 13.5 kWh | 11.04 kW |
| Powerwall 3 + 1 Expansion | 27 kWhcalculated | 11.04 kW |
| Powerwall 3 + 2 Expansions | 40.5 kWhcalculated | 11.04 kW |
| Powerwall 3 + 3 Expansions | 54 kWhcalculated | 11.04 kW |
Full specifications
| Specification | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | ||
| Usable capacity (per unit) | 13.5 kWhAC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°C | Tesla datasheetp.2 & p.4 |
| Total (nominal) capacity | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Depth of discharge | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Battery chemistry | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| System | ||
| Maximum usable storage (expanded) | 94.5 kWhMultiple Powerwall 3 units and/or Expansions | Tesla datasheetp.1 |
| How it expands | Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units) | Tesla datasheetp.2 |
| Maximum system power (expanded) | 44 kWAC continuous, multiple Powerwall 3 units | Tesla datasheetp.1 |
| Architecture | All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side) | Tesla datasheetp.1 & p.3 solar specifications |
| Grid connection | Single phase, 230 V, 50 Hz | Tesla datasheetp.2 |
| Power | ||
| Continuous power (per unit) | 11.04 kWInstaller-configurable: 3.68, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 or 11.04 kW | Tesla datasheetp.2, Nominal AC Output Power at 230 V |
| Peak power | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Peak duration | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Max charge power | 5 kWPowerwall 3 alone; up to 8 kW with Expansion units | Tesla datasheetp.2 |
| Round-trip efficiency | 89%Solar → battery → home/grid, typical use case | Tesla datasheetp.2, footnotes 1 & 3 |
| Solar | ||
| Max solar input | 20 kWMaximum solar STC input | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Solar MPPT inputs | 3 | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Backup | ||
| Backup switchover time | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Backup needs | Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs) | Tesla datasheetp.2 & p.5 |
| Physical | ||
| Ingress rating | IP67 battery & power electronics; IP55 wiring compartment | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor and outdoor rated | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Operating temperature | −20°C to 50°C (may de-rate above 40°C) | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Dimensions | 1105 × 609 × 193H × W × D as listed | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Weight | 130 kg | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Mounting | Floor or wall | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
| Warranty | ||
| Stated cycle life | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Warranty (UK) | 10 yearsMust be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 years | Tesla datasheetp.2, footnote 6 |
| Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty | 80%80% of 13.5 kWh at 10 years | Tesla warrantyp.1, retention table for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK |
| Warranty throughput limit | Not documented in the sources we hold | |
| Warranty conditions | Unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh throughput limit for other uses. Minimum 4-year cover if not kept online. | Tesla warrantyp.1 & p.3 |
| Compliance | ||
| UK grid compliance | G98, G99, G100 | Tesla datasheetp.3 |
Questions people ask
How much usable capacity does the Tesla Powerwall 3 have?
13.5 kWh (AC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°C).
Can the Tesla Powerwall 3 be expanded?
Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units). Maximum usable storage: 94.5 kWh.
How long will the Tesla Powerwall 3 run a house in a power cut?
Running essentials only (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV and device charging, about 156 W on average), a full Powerwall 3 lasts roughly 3 days 10 hours. Heavy loads such as a heat pump, electric shower or EV charger cut this sharply. Use the calculator on this page with your own appliances.
What warranty does the Tesla Powerwall 3 have in the UK?
10 years, guaranteeing 80% of capacity. Must be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 years.
What does the Tesla Powerwall 3 need to provide backup power?
Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs).
Compare with
Sigenergy SigenStor
A stackable system: a Sigen Energy Controller (hybrid inverter) with 1–6 battery modules of 5.2 or 7.8 kWh usable each.
Fox ESS EVO 10
An all-in-one battery and hybrid inverter with 10.24 kWh of LFP storage, sold in 5, 8 and 10 kW versions. Up to three units can run in parallel.
Enphase IQ Battery 5P
An AC-coupled 5 kWh battery with six built-in microinverters, so it can be added to most existing solar systems. Up to seven can be combined in the UK.
myenergi libbi
A UK-designed modular battery with a 3.68 kW or 5 kW hybrid inverter and 1–4 battery modules (4.6 kWh usable each). Built to work with myenergi's zappi and eddi.
Sources
- Powerwall 3 Datasheet (UK) — Tesla, 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Powerwall Limited Warranty (Europe incl. UK) — Tesla, Rev. 1.16, effective 3 Dec 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026. Current Rev. 1.16 read on Tesla's site; archived copy is Rev. 1.15 (27 Jan 2025) from a UK installer. UK terms (80% at 10 years, unlimited cycles for self-consumption/time-based/backup, 37.8 MWh otherwise, 4-year minimum if offline) are identical in Rev. 1.13, 1.15 and 1.16.
Spotted an error? Every figure above links to the document it came from. See how we check data.