Tesla Powerwall 3 vs SolarEdge Home Battery 400V
Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh per unit, expanding to 94.5 kWh. SolarEdge Home Battery 400V stores 9.7 kWh per unit, expanding to 29.1 kWh. Across the setups we list, continuous power is 11.04 kW for the Powerwall 3 and 3.68–6 kW for the Home Battery 400V. Warranty: 10 years vs 10 years.
Figures from manufacturer documents, last checked 26 Sept 2026. We don't rank products or take payment for results.
How they're built
Tesla Powerwall 3
All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side).
Backup: Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs).
SolarEdge Home Battery 400V
DC-coupled battery; needs a SolarEdge single-phase inverter (Home Hub, Home Wave or StorEdge).
Backup: SolarEdge Backup Interface (bought separately) with the Home Hub inverter.
Side by side
| Specification | Tesla Powerwall 3 | SolarEdge Home Battery 400V |
|---|---|---|
| Usable capacity (per unit) | 13.5 kWhAC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°CTesla datasheet, p.2 & p.4 | 9.7 kWhPer battery, 100% depth of dischargeSolarEdge datasheet, p.2 |
| Maximum usable storage (expanded) | 94.5 kWhMultiple Powerwall 3 units and/or ExpansionsTesla datasheet, p.1 | 29.1 kWhcalculatedPer inverterSolarEdge datasheet |
| How it expands | Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units)Tesla datasheet, p.2 | Up to 3 batteries per inverterSolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Batteries Per Inverter |
| Continuous power (per unit) | 11.04 kWInstaller-configurable: 3.68, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 or 11.04 kWTesla datasheet, p.2, Nominal AC Output Power at 230 V | 5 kWPer battery; the system's total is capped at the inverter's rated AC powerSolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Continuous Output Power |
| Peak power | Not documented | 7.5 kWPer battery, in backup, for 10 secondsSolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Peak Output Power in Backup |
| Round-trip efficiency | 89%Solar → battery → home/grid, typical use caseTesla datasheet, p.2, footnotes 1 & 3 | 94.5%Peak figure (stated as > 94.5%)SolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Peak Roundtrip Efficiency |
| Architecture | All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side)Tesla datasheet, p.1 & p.3 solar specifications | DC-coupled battery; needs a SolarEdge single-phase inverter (Home Hub, Home Wave or StorEdge)SolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Compatible Inverters |
| Max solar input | 20 kWMaximum solar STC inputTesla datasheet, p.3 | 7.36–12 kWSE3680H: 7.36 kW · SE5000H: 10 kW · SE6000H: 12 kWSolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Maximum DC PV Power |
| Backup needs | Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs)Tesla datasheet, p.2 & p.5 | SolarEdge Backup Interface (bought separately) with the Home Hub inverterSolarEdge datasheet, p.2, Smart energy capabilities |
| Indoor / outdoor | Indoor and outdoor ratedTesla datasheet, p.3 | Not documented |
| Dimensions | 1105 × 609 × 193H × W × D as listedTesla datasheet, p.3 | 790 × 1179 × 250W × H × DSolarEdge datasheet, p.2 |
| Weight | 130 kgTesla datasheet, p.3 | 119 kgSolarEdge datasheet, p.2 |
| Warranty (UK) | 10 yearsMust be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 yearsTesla datasheet, p.2, footnote 6 | 10 yearsSolarEdge warranty, p.1 |
| Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty | 80%80% of 13.5 kWh at 10 yearsTesla warranty, p.1, retention table for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK | 70%At the end of the warrantySolarEdge warranty, p.1, Energy Retention |
| Warranty conditions | Unlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh throughput limit for other uses. Minimum 4-year cover if not kept online.Tesla warranty, p.1 & p.3 | Must stay connected to an approved SolarEdge inverter and SolarEdge monitoring for the whole warranty. Ambient temperature must be 0–40°C for at least 95% of the time.SolarEdge warranty, p.1, General Guidelines |
How long each runs your home in a power cut
Every setup we list for both, from a full battery with no solar. Appliance figures are typical estimates; use the calculator below with your own.
| Setup | Usable | Continuous | Essentials (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV, charging) | Essentials + air-source heat pump (winter) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 13.5 kWh | 11.04 kW | 3 days 10 hours | 7.7 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 1 Expansion | 27 kWh | 11.04 kW | 6 days 20 hours | 15.5 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 2 Expansions | 40.5 kWh | 11.04 kW | 10 days 7 hours | 23.2 hours |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 + 3 Expansions | 54 kWh | 11.04 kW | 13 days 17 hours | 31 hours |
| SolarEdge Home Battery 400V · Home Hub SE3680H + 1 battery (9.7 kWh) | 9.7 kWh | 3.68 kW | 2 days 11 hours | 5.6 hours |
| SolarEdge Home Battery 400V · Home Hub SE5000H + 1 battery (9.7 kWh) | 9.7 kWh | 5 kW | 2 days 11 hours | 5.6 hours |
| SolarEdge Home Battery 400V · Home Hub SE6000H + 2 batteries (19.4 kWh) | 19.4 kWh | 6 kW | 4 days 22 hours | 11.1 hours |
| SolarEdge Home Battery 400V · Home Hub SE6000H + 3 batteries (29.1 kWh) | 29.1 kWh | 6 kW | 7 days 9 hours | 16.7 hours |
Try your own appliances
Average draw 156 W from 12.83 kWh available.
Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 11.04 kW limit
- Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
- 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
- Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
- Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
- Powerwall 3: Battery chemistry is not stated in the UK datasheet.
- Powerwall 3: A peak power figure in kW is not stated in the UK datasheet; it lists motor-start capability of 185 A (locked rotor amps).
- Powerwall 3: Continuous output is set by the installer (3.68–11.04 kW). Ask what yours will be set to.
- Home Battery 400V: SolarEdge blocks automated downloads, so our archived datasheet is the October 2022 edition. We checked the key figures against the July 2024 edition on SolarEdge's site.
- Home Battery 400V: Only works with SolarEdge inverters. It can't be added to another brand's solar inverter.
- Home Battery 400V: Using a wired RS485 link instead of SolarEdge Home Network can reduce usable energy to 9.5 kWh, according to the datasheet.
Questions people ask
Which stores more, Tesla Powerwall 3 or SolarEdge Home Battery 400V?
Tesla Powerwall 3 has the higher stated maximum. Tesla Powerwall 3: up to 94.5 kWh (multiple Powerwall 3 units and/or Expansions). SolarEdge Home Battery 400V: up to 29.1 kWh (per inverter). Per unit, Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh and SolarEdge Home Battery 400V stores 9.7 kWh.
Which can run more appliances at once?
Across the setups we list, Tesla Powerwall 3 delivers 11.04 kW continuously and SolarEdge Home Battery 400V delivers 3.68–6 kW. These are the maximums for each setup; installers can set some systems lower. Continuous power limits how many appliances can run at the same time; capacity decides how long they run.
Which has the better warranty?
Tesla Powerwall 3: 10 years, 80% capacity guaranteed at the end. SolarEdge Home Battery 400V: 10 years, 70% capacity guaranteed at the end. Conditions differ, so check the warranty rows in the table above.
Do Tesla Powerwall 3 and SolarEdge Home Battery 400V work with Intelligent Octopus Flux?
Tesla Powerwall 3: On Octopus's integration list. SolarEdge Home Battery 400V: On Octopus's integration list. Octopus lists the battery brands it can control in its Intelligent Flux FAQ; see our Intelligent Octopus Flux page for details.
Other comparisons
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Sigenergy SigenStor
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Fox ESS EVO 10
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 5P
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Huawei LUNA2000-S1
Tesla Powerwall 3 vs myenergi libbi
Enphase IQ Battery 5P vs SolarEdge Home Battery 400V
Sources
- Powerwall 3 Datasheet (UK) — Tesla, 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Powerwall Limited Warranty (Europe incl. UK) — Tesla, Rev. 1.16, effective 3 Dec 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- SolarEdge Home Battery 400V For Europe (BAT-10K1P) datasheet — SolarEdge, DS-000164-EU. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- SolarEdge Home Hub Inverter Single Phase, for Europe (SE2500H–SE10000H) — SolarEdge, DS-000198-EU. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Limited SolarEdge Home Battery 400V Warranty — SolarEdge, Effective 1 Jan 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
- Intelligent Octopus Flux: Frequently Asked Questions — Octopus Energy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
Spotted an error? See how we check data. Always confirm your final design with an MCS-certified installer.