Home › Compare › Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Sigenergy SigenStor

Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Sigenergy SigenStor

Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh per unit, expanding to 94.5 kWh. Sigenergy SigenStor stores 5.2–7.8 kWh per unit, expanding to 46.8 kWh. Across the setups we list, continuous power is 11.04 kW for the Powerwall 3 and 4–6 kW for the SigenStor. Warranty: 10 years vs 10 years. Intelligent Octopus Flux: Powerwall 3 is “On Octopus's integration list”; SigenStor is “Not on Octopus's list”.

Figures from manufacturer documents, last checked 26 Sept 2026. We don't rank products or take payment for results.

How they're built

Tesla Powerwall 3

All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side).

Backup: Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs).

Full Powerwall 3 specs

Sigenergy SigenStor

Modular: Energy Controller (hybrid inverter, solar on DC side) plus stacked battery modules.

Backup: Sigen Energy Gateway.

Full SigenStor specs

Side by side

SpecificationTesla Powerwall 3Sigenergy SigenStor
Usable capacity (per unit)13.5 kWhAC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°CTesla datasheet, p.2 & p.45.2–7.8 kWhPer module: BAT 5.0 = 5.2 kWh, BAT 8.0 = 7.8 kWhSigenergy datasheet, Specification table
Battery chemistryNot documentedLFP (LiFePO₄)Sigenergy datasheet, Specification table
Maximum usable storage (expanded)94.5 kWhMultiple Powerwall 3 units and/or ExpansionsTesla datasheet, p.146.8 kWhcalculatedPer controllerSigenergy datasheet
How it expandsUp to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units)Tesla datasheet, p.21–6 battery modules per controllerSigenergy datasheet, p.2, Battery connection
Continuous power (per unit)11.04 kWInstaller-configurable: 3.68, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 or 11.04 kWTesla datasheet, p.2, Nominal AC Output Power at 230 V3–6 kWSingle-phase controllers 3.0–6.0 kW; also limited by battery modules (2.5 kW per BAT 5.0, 4 kW per BAT 8.0)Sigenergy datasheet, p.2, Single-phase controller, nominal output power
Peak powerNot documented4.5–9 kWSingle-phase backup peak for 10 seconds, 4.5–9 kW by controllerSigenergy datasheet, p.2, AC output (backup), peak 10 s
Round-trip efficiency89%Solar → battery → home/grid, typical use caseTesla datasheet, p.2, footnotes 1 & 3Not documented
ArchitectureAll-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side)Tesla datasheet, p.1 & p.3 solar specificationsModular: Energy Controller (hybrid inverter, solar on DC side) plus stacked battery modulesSigenergy datasheet, p.1–2
Max solar input20 kWMaximum solar STC inputTesla datasheet, p.36–12 kWSingle-phase controllers 3.0–6.0 SPSigenergy datasheet, p.2, DC input
Backup switchover timeNot documented0 msNeeds the Sigen Energy Gateway; load-side disruptionSigenergy datasheet, p.2, footnote 1
Backup needsBackup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs)Tesla datasheet, p.2 & p.5Sigen Energy GatewaySigenergy datasheet, p.2, footnote 1
Indoor / outdoorIndoor and outdoor ratedTesla datasheet, p.3Not documented
Dimensions1105 × 609 × 193H × W × D as listedTesla datasheet, p.3767 × 270 × 260 (per module)W × H × DSigenergy datasheet
Weight130 kgTesla datasheet, p.355–70 kgPer module: 55 kg (BAT 5.0), 70 kg (BAT 8.0)Sigenergy datasheet
Warranty (UK)10 yearsMust be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 yearsTesla datasheet, p.2, footnote 610 yearsBattery and Energy Controller; installed on or after 1 June 2023Sigenergy warranty, p.1
Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty80%80% of 13.5 kWh at 10 yearsTesla warranty, p.1, retention table for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK70%70% of usable energySigenergy warranty, p.1
Warranty conditionsUnlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh throughput limit for other uses. Minimum 4-year cover if not kept online.Tesla warranty, p.1 & p.3Must stay connected to the internet for the full 10 years; 5 years minimum otherwise.Sigenergy warranty, p.2

How long each runs your home in a power cut

Every setup we list for both, from a full battery with no solar. Appliance figures are typical estimates; use the calculator below with your own.

SetupUsableContinuousEssentials (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV, charging)Essentials + air-source heat pump (winter)
Tesla Powerwall 313.5 kWh11.04 kW3 days 10 hours7.7 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 1 Expansion27 kWh11.04 kW6 days 20 hours15.5 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 2 Expansions40.5 kWh11.04 kW10 days 7 hours23.2 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 3 Expansions54 kWh11.04 kW13 days 17 hours31 hours
Sigenergy SigenStor · 6.0 SP controller + 1 × BAT 8.07.8 kWh4 kW47.5 hours4.5 hours
Sigenergy SigenStor · 6.0 SP controller + 2 × BAT 8.015.6 kWh6 kW3 days 23 hours8.9 hours
Sigenergy SigenStor · 6.0 SP controller + 3 × BAT 8.023.4 kWh6 kW5 days 23 hours13.4 hours

Try your own appliances

Tick what you want to run. Watts are typical estimates; change them to match your appliances.
Essentials
Comfort
Kitchen
Big loads
Estimated runtime from full
3 days 10 hours

Average draw 156 W from 12.83 kWh available.

Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 11.04 kW limit

  • Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
  • 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
  • Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
  • Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
Worth knowing
  • Powerwall 3: Battery chemistry is not stated in the UK datasheet.
  • Powerwall 3: A peak power figure in kW is not stated in the UK datasheet; it lists motor-start capability of 185 A (locked rotor amps).
  • Powerwall 3: Continuous output is set by the installer (3.68–11.04 kW). Ask what yours will be set to.
  • SigenStor: Warranty figures are from Sigenergy's Europe warranty; confirm UK coverage with your installer.
  • SigenStor: Round-trip efficiency is not stated as a single figure in the datasheets we hold.
  • SigenStor: Larger single-phase controllers may exist in the UK; this page covers the 3.0–6.0 SP range in the datasheet we hold.

Questions people ask

Which stores more, Tesla Powerwall 3 or Sigenergy SigenStor?

Tesla Powerwall 3 has the higher stated maximum. Tesla Powerwall 3: up to 94.5 kWh (multiple Powerwall 3 units and/or Expansions). Sigenergy SigenStor: up to 46.8 kWh (per controller). Per unit, Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh and Sigenergy SigenStor stores 5.2–7.8 kWh.

Which can run more appliances at once?

Across the setups we list, Tesla Powerwall 3 delivers 11.04 kW continuously and Sigenergy SigenStor delivers 4–6 kW. These are the maximums for each setup; installers can set some systems lower. Continuous power limits how many appliances can run at the same time; capacity decides how long they run.

Which has the better warranty?

Tesla Powerwall 3: 10 years, 80% capacity guaranteed at the end. Sigenergy SigenStor: 10 years, 70% capacity guaranteed at the end. Conditions differ, so check the warranty rows in the table above.

Do Tesla Powerwall 3 and Sigenergy SigenStor work with Intelligent Octopus Flux?

Tesla Powerwall 3: On Octopus's integration list. Sigenergy SigenStor: Not on Octopus's list. Octopus lists the battery brands it can control in its Intelligent Flux FAQ; see our Intelligent Octopus Flux page for details.

Other comparisons

Sources

  1. Powerwall 3 Datasheet (UK) — Tesla, 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  2. Powerwall Limited Warranty (Europe incl. UK) — Tesla, Rev. 1.16, effective 3 Dec 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  3. Sigen Battery 5.0 / 8.0 kWh datasheet — Sigenergy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  4. Datasheet – SigenStor Home (Energy Controller) — Sigenergy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  5. Factory Limited Warranty for SigenStor (For Europe) — Sigenergy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  6. Intelligent Octopus Flux: Frequently Asked Questions — Octopus Energy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.

Spotted an error? See how we check data. Always confirm your final design with an MCS-certified installer.