Home › Compare › Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Huawei LUNA2000-S1

Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Huawei LUNA2000-S1

Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh per unit, expanding to 94.5 kWh. Huawei LUNA2000-S1 stores 6.9 kWh per unit, expanding to 20.7 kWh. Across the setups we list, continuous power is 11.04 kW for the Powerwall 3 and 3.5–5 kW for the LUNA2000-S1. Warranty: 10 years vs 5–15 years. Intelligent Octopus Flux: Powerwall 3 is “On Octopus's integration list”; LUNA2000-S1 is “Not on Octopus's list”.

Figures from manufacturer documents, last checked 26 Sept 2026. We don't rank products or take payment for results.

How they're built

Tesla Powerwall 3

All-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side).

Backup: Backup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs).

Full Powerwall 3 specs

Huawei LUNA2000-S1

DC-coupled high-voltage battery: one control unit plus 1–3 battery modules, connected to a Huawei SUN2000 hybrid inverter.

Backup: Huawei Backup Box-B0 or SmartGuard-63A-S0.

Full LUNA2000-S1 specs

Side by side

SpecificationTesla Powerwall 3Huawei LUNA2000-S1
Usable capacity (per unit)13.5 kWhAC, minimum at beginning of life, 25°CTesla datasheet, p.2 & p.46.9 kWhPer LUNA2000-7-E1 moduleHuawei manual, p.127
Battery chemistryNot documentedLFP (LiFePO₄)Huawei manual, p.128, Cell
Maximum usable storage (expanded)94.5 kWhMultiple Powerwall 3 units and/or ExpansionsTesla datasheet, p.120.7 kWhOne stack of 3 modulesHuawei manual, p.127
How it expandsUp to 4 Powerwall 3 units and up to 3 Expansion units (max 7 units)Tesla datasheet, p.21–3 modules of 6.9 kWh per stackHuawei manual, p.127, Number of Energy Storage Modules
Continuous power (per unit)11.04 kWInstaller-configurable: 3.68, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 or 11.04 kWTesla datasheet, p.2, Nominal AC Output Power at 230 V3.5–10.5 kWBattery side: 3.5 kW (1 module), 7 kW (2), 10.5 kW (3). Your inverter may allow less.Huawei manual, p.127, Maximum output power
Round-trip efficiency89%Solar → battery → home/grid, typical use caseTesla datasheet, p.2, footnotes 1 & 3Not documented
ArchitectureAll-in-one: battery with built-in hybrid solar inverter (solar connects on the DC side)Tesla datasheet, p.1 & p.3 solar specificationsDC-coupled high-voltage battery: one control unit plus 1–3 battery modules, connected to a Huawei SUN2000 hybrid inverterHuawei manual, p.127, Performance
Max solar input20 kWMaximum solar STC inputTesla datasheet, p.35.52–9 kWSUN2000-3.68KTL-L1: 5.52 kWp · 5KTL-L1: 7.5 kWp · 6KTL-L1: 9 kWpHuawei datasheet, Input (PV): Recommended max. PV power
Backup needsBackup Gateway 2 (required for backup installs)Tesla datasheet, p.2 & p.5Huawei Backup Box-B0 or SmartGuard-63A-S0Huawei datasheet, Backup power output
Indoor / outdoorIndoor and outdoor ratedTesla datasheet, p.3Not documented
Dimensions1105 × 609 × 193H × W × D as listedTesla datasheet, p.3590 × 360 × 255 per module; control unit 590 × 150 × 255W × H × DHuawei manual, p.128
Weight130 kgTesla datasheet, p.368 kgPer module; control unit 10 kg; 3-module system 216 kg with floor bracketHuawei manual, p.128
Warranty (UK)10 yearsMust be reliably connected to the internet for the full 10 yearsTesla datasheet, p.2, footnote 65–15 yearsmedium confidenceEU terms. 5 years basic; 15 years if the battery stays online with Huawei's FusionSolar monitoringHuawei warranty, p.3, LUNA2000-7/14/21-S1
Capacity guaranteed at end of warranty80%80% of 13.5 kWh at 10 yearsTesla warranty, p.1, retention table for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland or the UK60%medium confidenceEU termsHuawei warranty, p.3, Notice 1
Warranty conditionsUnlimited cycles for solar self-consumption, time-based control and backup; 37.8 MWh throughput limit for other uses. Minimum 4-year cover if not kept online.Tesla warranty, p.1 & p.3The long warranty needs internet connection for firmware updates (not offline for over 6 months) and FusionSolar registration. Must be installed and commissioned within a month of leaving the distributor, by a Huawei-certified or qualified installer.medium confidenceHuawei warranty, p.3, Notices 4–6

How long each runs your home in a power cut

Every setup we list for both, from a full battery with no solar. Appliance figures are typical estimates; use the calculator below with your own.

SetupUsableContinuousEssentials (fridge-freezer, lights, Wi-Fi, TV, charging)Essentials + air-source heat pump (winter)
Tesla Powerwall 313.5 kWh11.04 kW3 days 10 hours7.7 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 1 Expansion27 kWh11.04 kW6 days 20 hours15.5 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 2 Expansions40.5 kWh11.04 kW10 days 7 hours23.2 hours
Tesla Powerwall 3 + 3 Expansions54 kWh11.04 kW13 days 17 hours31 hours
Huawei LUNA2000-S1 · SUN2000-3.68KTL-L1 + LUNA2000-7-S1 (6.9 kWh)6.9 kWh3.5 kW42 hours4 hours
Huawei LUNA2000-S1 · SUN2000-5KTL-L1 + LUNA2000-14-S1 (13.8 kWh)13.8 kWh5 kW3 days 12 hours7.9 hours
Huawei LUNA2000-S1 · SUN2000-6KTL-L1 + LUNA2000-21-S1 (20.7 kWh)20.7 kWh5 kW5 days 6 hours11.9 hours

Try your own appliances

Tick what you want to run. Watts are typical estimates; change them to match your appliances.
Essentials
Comfort
Kitchen
Big loads
Estimated runtime from full
3 days 10 hours

Average draw 156 W from 12.83 kWh available.

Everything on at once: 415 W — within the 11.04 kW limit

  • Starts from a full battery with 0% held back as reserve.
  • 5% extra allowed for wiring and standby losses on top of the manufacturer's usable figure.
  • Appliance figures are typical averages; your own may differ. Enter your own wattage for the most accurate result.
  • Assumes no solar recharging during the outage.
Worth knowing
  • Powerwall 3: Battery chemistry is not stated in the UK datasheet.
  • Powerwall 3: A peak power figure in kW is not stated in the UK datasheet; it lists motor-start capability of 185 A (locked rotor amps).
  • Powerwall 3: Continuous output is set by the installer (3.68–11.04 kW). Ask what yours will be set to.
  • LUNA2000-S1: Warranty figures are from Huawei's EU terms. Huawei publishes separate UK terms, but we couldn't get a current copy, so check the UK terms with your installer.
  • LUNA2000-S1: Round-trip efficiency and depth of discharge aren't stated in the S1 manual.
  • LUNA2000-S1: Huawei also sells 5 kWh S1 modules. We've listed the 6.9 kWh module only.

Questions people ask

Which stores more, Tesla Powerwall 3 or Huawei LUNA2000-S1?

Tesla Powerwall 3 has the higher stated maximum. Tesla Powerwall 3: up to 94.5 kWh (multiple Powerwall 3 units and/or Expansions). Huawei LUNA2000-S1: up to 20.7 kWh (one stack of 3 modules). Per unit, Tesla Powerwall 3 stores 13.5 kWh and Huawei LUNA2000-S1 stores 6.9 kWh.

Which can run more appliances at once?

Across the setups we list, Tesla Powerwall 3 delivers 11.04 kW continuously and Huawei LUNA2000-S1 delivers 3.5–5 kW. These are the maximums for each setup; installers can set some systems lower. Continuous power limits how many appliances can run at the same time; capacity decides how long they run.

Which has the better warranty?

Tesla Powerwall 3: 10 years, 80% capacity guaranteed at the end. Huawei LUNA2000-S1: 5–15 years, 60% capacity guaranteed at the end. Conditions differ, so check the warranty rows in the table above.

Do Tesla Powerwall 3 and Huawei LUNA2000-S1 work with Intelligent Octopus Flux?

Tesla Powerwall 3: On Octopus's integration list. Huawei LUNA2000-S1: Not on Octopus's list. Octopus lists the battery brands it can control in its Intelligent Flux FAQ; see our Intelligent Octopus Flux page for details.

Other comparisons

Sources

  1. Powerwall 3 Datasheet (UK) — Tesla, 2026. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  2. Powerwall Limited Warranty (Europe incl. UK) — Tesla, Rev. 1.16, effective 3 Dec 2025. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  3. LUNA2000-(7/14/21)-S1 User Manual — Huawei, Issue 02. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  4. SUN2000-2/3/3.68/4/4.6/5/6KTL-L1 Smart Energy Controller datasheet — Huawei, 04-202403. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  5. Huawei Limited Product Warranty (EU warranty conditions) — Huawei, EU version 2024-03-01. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.
  6. Intelligent Octopus Flux: Frequently Asked Questions — Octopus Energy. Retrieved 26 Sept 2026.

Spotted an error? See how we check data. Always confirm your final design with an MCS-certified installer.